BIA has ushered in a year of change, appointing new board officers and staff leadership. Appointments follow the retirement of outgoing BIA President and CEO Gregg Borchelt, celebrated with top industry honors.

“Our Board and Council members continually demonstrate a strong commitment to BIA and the American clay brick industry,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA’s new President and CEO, promoted from Chief Financial Officer and Vice President of Administration.

2014-2016 Board Leadership
Hanson Brick Senior Vice President Charlie Ward, also general manager of Hanson Brick Products-Light Products, starts a two-year term as BIA Chairman of the Board. Ward succeeds former Chairman Brett Packer, President of Packer Brick. The new BIA Vice Chairman is Sam Strang, President of Alley-Cassetty Brick, succeeding Bob Belden, President and CEO of The Belden Brick Co. Joe Rice, President of Belden Tri-State Building Materials, was named secretary, replacing Ward.

BIA Manufacturer Council Chair is Davis Henry, President of Henry Brick Co., succeeding Butch McAvoy, President of The McAvoy Brick Co. Suzanne McAnallen, President of Donley Brick Co., is BIA Distributor Council Chair, replacing Rice.

New BIA Staff Leadership
As President and CEO, Leonhard will lead BIA in its strategic direction, effectively using the association’s resources to implement programs and services that maximize member value.

New Chief Operating Officer Stephen Sears, former Vice President of Marketing and Member Services, will lead BIA’s marketing and communication programs, member recruitment, and member services. Sears will also help establish local brick councils in key markets around the country.