You are here: Events & Education > Brick In Architecture Awards
Brick in Architecture Awards

2014 Brick in Architecture Awards Competition Announces Winners

2014 Brick in Architecture Award Entries - Photo Gallery

2014 Brick in Architecture Award Winners - Official BIA Press Release

Brick in Architecture Awards in the Media

2014 Brick in Architecture Awards 

Brick in Architecture Awards 02 July 2014

Style Design wins "Brick in Architecture" award

Pine Halls Wins Big At Brick In Architecture Awards

Masonry Magazine 2014 Brick in Architecture Awards

Brick Association Announces 2014 Design Award Winners

Pine Hall Brick Products Featured in Award-Winning Designs

2014 Brick in Architecture Awards Honor Outstanding Design

D.C. Area Produces Six Winners at Brick in Architecture Awards

Donaldson Student Services Center receives national design recognition

Port Colborne’s Indigo House Wins Prestigious Top North American Award 

Tinley Park 80th Avenue Train Station wins national Brick in Architecture award

View Competition Rules

Submit Entry Now

Since 1989, the Brick Industry Association has sponsored one of the country's most prestigious architectural award programs - the Brick in Architecture Awards. As the only national association to represent both manufacturers and distributors, BIA is the authority in the clay brick industry. As such, the Brick in Architecture Awards has become the nation's premiere architectural award featuring clay brick.

Architectural and design firms from around the country can enter their best material to be judged by a jury of their peers. Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2009, in which clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible. These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units. An entrant may submit more than one project for consideration, and previously submitted projects can be entered once again as long as they were completed since 2009.

Our competitions are conducted entirely online. For ease and convenience, this includes all aspects of registration and entry submission. Entrants are able to revise and enhance their submissions at any point up until the competition's closing date. A firm may submit multiple entries if desired, either within the same category or among multiple categories.

We cordially invite you to submit your best work to the competition! As the largest and most prestigious juried awards program of its kind, the Brick in Architecture Awards showcase the best work in clay face and paving brick from architects across the country in the following categories:

  • Commercial (Under $10 Million)
  • Commercial (Over $10 Million)
  • Education - K-12
  • Education - Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
  • Health Care Facilities
  • Municipal / Government
  • Houses of Worship
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects
  • Renovation (Additions)** / Restoration (Restoring)

* Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings

**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building. Restoration must include at least 50% clay brick products, which can either be new or salvaged.

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a special Brick in Architecture insert in the December 2014 issue of Architect Magazine! Other winners will be listed in the insert as well as in Brick News Online. All entrants will be featured on BIA’s online Brick Photo Gallery.

For more information about any of our Brick in Architecture Awards program, contact Tricia Mauer at

2013 Brick in Architecture Awards Competition Announces Winners

2013 Brick in Architecture Award Entries - Photo Gallery

2013 Brick in Architecture Award Winners - Complete List

2013 Brick in Architecture Award Winners - Official BIA Press Release

2013 Brick in Architecture Winners - Other Media

 UDaily - University of Delaware  Warren Cultural Center

Worship Facilities Designer - Kent R. Hance Chapel

Leesburg Today: St. John the Apostle Catholic Church

Greenwich - French Normandy Guest House - St. Ignatius High School Mall Renovation - 2013 BIA Award Winners Honored for Best in Brick Design